Vermont

Vermont first signed medical marijuana legislation into law in 2004. The maximum patient marijuana possession allowance in the state is two ounces at any given time. Patients in Vermont are permitted to cultivate up to nine marijuana plants at home, so long as no more than two are mature at a time. Vermont law allows for operation of a maximum of four state-licensed dispensaries which can also provide legal home delivery services. The state’s medical marijuana program is only available to in-state residents, of which an estimated 1,754 are currently enrolled. Patients wishing to obtain a medical marijuana card in Vermont must apply through the Vermont Crime Information Center. Applications can only be submitted by mail and cost $50 to process. All applicants must be over 18 years of age or have a caregiver who is over 21 apply on their behalf.  Patients are responsible for supplying proof of residence, ID, and written certification of medical marijuana evaluation from a licensed doctor in Vermont, New Hampshire, New York, or Massachusetts. Vermont’s medical marijuana program only covers 7 qualifying ailments:
  • Cachexia/ Wasting syndrome
  • Cancer
  • HIV / AIDS
  • Multiple Sclerosis
  • Seizures
  • Severe pain
  • Severe nausea
For more information about medical marijuana in Vermont, patients can contact the Marijuana Registry directly by phone or email.
  • (802) 241-5115
DPS.MJRegistry@vermont.gov