Rhode Island

Rhode Island passed a medical marijuana program into law in 2006. Patients in Rhode Island have a maximum marijuana possession allowance of two and a half ounces at any given time. Rhode Island medical marijuana patients are permitted to cultivate up to 12 mature plants and 12 immature seedlings at home, so long as they are in an enclosed space. Multiple cardholders can collectively cultivate medical marijuana, so long as they never produce more than 10 usable ounces at any given time. Medical marijuana laws in Rhode Island dictate that no more than three state-licensed dispensaries can operate at a time. The Rhode Island medical marijuana program allows out-of-state residents with medical marijuana ID access to dispensaries in the state, as well. An estimated 11,881 patients are currently registered for medical marijuana in Rhode Island. Applications for medical marijuana cards must be submitted through the Rhode Island Department of Health. Applicants must mail their paperwork to the department and supply a $100 application fee. To apply, patients must be able to prove residency, ID, and supply written certification of a medical marijuana evaluation from their state-licensed physician. Applicants must be over 18 years of age or have a caregiver over the age of 18 apply on their behalf. Rhode Island currently recognizes 11 qualifying ailments and offers some flexibility:
  • Alzheimer's Disease
  • Cachexia / Wasting syndrome
  • Cancer
  • Chronic pain
  • Crohn's disease
  • Glaucoma
  • Hepatitis C
  • HIV/AIDS
  • Nausea
  • Persistent muscle spasms
  • Seizures
  • Other conditions can be approved on a case-by-case basis
To find out more information about medical marijuana policy in Rhode Island, email the state’s Medical Marijuana Program directly.