New Jersey

New Jersey’s medical marijuana program was signed into law in 2010. Patients in New Jersey have a possession allowance of two ounces monthly. Although New Jersey’s program forbids home cultivation, New Jersey does allow state-licensed dispensaries to operate. The medical marijuana program is available to in-state residents exclusively, of which an estimated 1,670 are currently enrolled. Application for medical marijuana cards in New Jersey are processed by the state’s Department of Health. New Jersey’s medical marijuana program allows patients to apply for a medical marijuana card online. First, applicants must obtain a medical marijuana evaluation and recommendation number for a licensed physician and are required to choose one “Alternative Care Center” to register with. Applicants must provide proof of residency, government-issued ID as well as a physician's certification. Applicants must be over 18 years of age, but a caregiver over 18 can apply on behalf of a minor. It costs $200 to file an application in New Jersey. The New Jersey medical marijuana program covers 9 core ailments and leaves room for limited flexibility:
  • ALS
  • Cancer (and associated pain and nausea)
  • Crohn's disease
  • Glaucoma
  • HIV/AIDS (and associated pain and nausea)
  • Inflammatory bowel disease
  • Multiple Sclerosis
  • Muscular Dystrophy
  • Seizure and/or spasticity disorders
  • Exceptions can be made for any terminal illness in which a physician has determined a patient has less than one year to live.
Patients seeking more information about  medical cannabis cards in New Jersey can call the Medicinal Marijuana Program directly or fill out a contact form here.
  • (609) 292-0424