New Hampshire

New Hampshire’s medical marijuana program is not-yet fully operational but was signed into law in 2013. Patients in New Hampshire are entitled to possess up to two ounces of usable marijuana at any given time, but they may not cultivate any plants at home.The New Hampshire medical marijuana program offers limited reciprocity; out-of-state patients are not permitted to utilize New Hampshire dispensaries, however, they can legally possess medical marijuana if they entered the state with it. Eventually, the New Hampshire medical marijuana program will allow state-licensed dispensaries a maximum of four. Because the program is not yet in action, there are currently no patients registered. Patients wishing to obtain a medical marijuana card must apply through the New Hampshire Department of Health and Human Services. Applications can only be accepted by mail or can be delivered in person to the department. Applicants must be over 18 years of age and supply a $50 application fee. A caregiver or custodial guardian over the age of 21 may apply for a medical cannabis card on behalf of a minor. Applicants must supply proof of residency, as well as a written certificate from a New Hampshire-licensed physician that provides medical marijuana evaluation. The New Hampshire medical marijuana program covers 23 qualified ailments:
  • ALS
  • Alzheimer's disease
  • Cachexia / Wasting Syndrome
  • Cancer
  • Chemotherapy induced anorexia
  • Chronic pancreatitis
  • Crohn's disease
  • Elevated intraocular pressure
  • Epilepsy
  • Glaucoma
  • Hepatitis C (currently receiving antiviral treatment)
  • HIV/AIDS
  • Lupus
  • Moderate to severe vomiting
  • Multiple Sclerosis
  • Muscular Dystrophy
  • Nausea
  • Parkinson's disease
  • Persistent muscle spasms
  • Seizures
  • Severe pain
  • Spinal cord injury or disease
  • Traumatic brain injury
Patients seeking more information about New Hampshire’s medical marijuana laws can contact the Therapeutic Cannabis Program directly by phone.
  • (603) 271-9333