Maryland

Maryland, which signed a medical marijuana program into law in 2014,does not yet have a fully operational program. When the law kicks into full swing over the course of the next year, patients will be allowed to possess a “30 day supply” of usable marijuana at a time. The law does not permit patient access to or possession of any cannabis edible product. The legislation allows for the operation of state-licensed dispensaries that will only be available to residents of Maryland. Because the law is not yet operational, there are no registered patients at this time. Patients in Maryland will eventually be able to apply for a medical marijuana card through the Maryland Medical Cannabis Commision. The agency is currently processing applications for dispensaries and physicians looking to participate in the medical marijuana program, but when they are done they will begin to accept patient’s applications. Patients must be over 18 years of age to apply and be able to supply proof of residency and certification of medical marijuana evaluation from a licensed physician. A medical marijuana ID card is optional in the state of Maryland, but patients can acquire one for a charge of $50. Maryland has a stringent list of 6 qualifying ailments:
  • Anorexia
  • Cachexia/Wasting Syndrome
  • Chronic Pain
  • Nausea
  • Seizures
  • Severe or persistent muscle spasms
Patients seeking further information can reach out to the Maryland Medical Cannabis Commission by email.