Delaware

Delaware has had an operational medical marijuana program since the law was signed in 2011. Delaware allows patients a comparatively high possession maximum, capping it off at six ounces of usable marijuana at any given time. Patients in Delaware are forbidden by law to cultivate marijuana plants independently, but the program does allow for the operation of state-licensed dispensaries. Only residents of Delaware are granted access to the program because there is no reciprocity clause. It is estimated that more than 600 patients are currently enrolled in Delaware’s medical marijuana program. To attain a medical marijuana card in Delaware, patients must submit applications to the Delaware Health and Social Services’ Division of Public Health. Applicants must be over 18 years of age and supply certification from their physician showing they suffer a qualifying ailment. Delaware charges an annual fee of $125 to all medical marijuana card-holders. Delaware currently grants medical cannabis cards to patients suffering 1 of 16 possible qualifying ailments:
  • Alzheimer's disease
  • Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis
  • Cachexia / Wasting Syndrome
  • Cancer
  • Chronic pain
  • HIV/AIDS
  • Intractable epilepsy*
  • Nausea
  • Post-traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD)
  • Seizures
  • Severe and persistent muscle spasms
*  While the Delaware medical marijuana program is not normally open to minors, certain cases of of intractable epilepsy in patients below 18 can be accommodated. For further information patients in Delaware can contact the Division of Public Health by phone or email.
  • (302) 744-4749
MedicalMarijuanaDPH@state.de.us