Alaska

In Alaska, medical marijuana laws have been on the books since 1998. The state forbids patients from possession of more than one ounce of useable marijuana at any given point. Patients are also allowed to cultivate up to six marijuana plants at one time so long as only three are mature. At present there are an estimated 1,465 patients enrolled in Alaska’s medical marijuana program. The state offers no reciprocity program which means dispensaries can only sell to in-state residents. Furthermore, Alaska forbids the presence of state-operated, not-for-profit dispensaries. Medical marijuana cards in Alaska are processed by the Alaska Department of Health and Social Services, Division of Public Health. Patients must be 21 years of age to apply or have a qualified caregiver above the age of 21 with no criminal record apply on their behalf. The application is available online and must be submitted by mail along with a $25 application fee. Patients must provide their basic health information, as well as attach a signed referral from a licensed physician who provides medical marijuana evaluations. Alaska has a relatively stringent list of qualifying ailments:
  • Cachexia / Wasting Syndrome
  • Cancer
  • Chronic pain
  • Glaucoma
  • HIV/ AIDS
  • Multiple Sclerosis
  • Nausea
  • Seizures
Alaskan patients seeking further information about acquiring a medical cannabis card can contact the Alaska Medical Marijuana Registry by email or phone.